Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

It is believed that money is a contributing factor to happiness because people buy what they want when they have the means to. I think that without this means, individuals can attain happiness through other factors such as their relationships with their loved ones. Money became a crucial part of people’s lives. It became the benefactor of people’s happiness due to its sustenance for it gives them their daily basic needs and their desires. These achievements feed their egotistical behaviour, increasing their self-esteem. For instance, studies showed that human beings are driven to work hard because of the salary for it provides food on the table, clothes them, and builds their houses. The routine of getting money and being rewarded with anything that humans buy increases their morale, hence making them happy. On the other hand, humankind has the capability of acquiring happiness even though they have lesser money. It is not solely caused by income for this comes from within. It is motivated by several factors, one of which would be their relationships with their loved ones. Families and friends reciprocate feelings of love and care that produces dopamine, the happy hormone. For example, research showed that 83% of individuals who are feeling good about themselves, who are feeling loved and who are sharing their love with their significant others tend to have higher dopamine levels compared to that of humans whose happiness were driven by money. In conclusion, humankind has different sources of happiness and to some, money is the most essential one. Others acquire higher dopamine levels through compassion and relationships given by their families and friends.