Some people think it is more important to spend public money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The money spent on transportation systems is always a subject of controversy. Some people argue that the government should invest money in infrastructure such as roads and motorways rather than improving public transport systems, nonetheless, both road infrastructure and public transportation are crucial and should receive equal investment. To begin with, improving roads and motorways can bring up with several benefits to the country. Reforming motorways will enhance safety and make people feel more assured when using these. As a result, the number of accidents may fall significantly, and residents can be more confident when driving on newly constructed roads. Moreover, improving motorways will decrease the number of traffic jams. Broadening and reconstructing crowded streets can make more space for travelling, therefore, helping the government to address the problem with traffic congestion during peak hours. For instance, after constructing new roads and improving current, the proportion of traffic jams in Viet Nam has fallen dramatically. On the other hand, I believe that public transport systems are vital in many nations indeed and they should be invested in the facilities and equipment of public transportation. Firstly, it will help protect the environment by reducing the amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere. For example, research indicates that the increase in the use of public transport can be the most important reason leading to reducing the carbon footprint. Furthermore, for people who do not own a personal vehicle, public transport is the most appealing way of travelling, compared to other methods. It is low-price, can be accessed without any difficulties, and is suitable for all ages. In conclusion, both of these aspects are crucial that authorities must consider. Rather than prioritise either, the money should be equally spent on improving highways and public transport.