Parents often buy their children many toys. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having a large number of toys?

It is an undeniable fact that playing with the toys assists the kids for their proper growth in the formative years. Owing to this, guardians purchase plenty of toys for their infants to keep them happy. However, along with the merits, this trend has some demerits as well. This essay will discuss both sides in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, this trend has numerous benefits. First and foremost, a wide range of toys pushes the little ones towards the development of their cognitive abilities. To explain, while playing with different types of toys ranging from simple toys to complex ones, children often dedicate a large share of time to comprehend the working of toys such as combining different modules of toy train to run on the tracks. In such a scenario, they are more likely to develop their analytic and thinking abilities as compared to those who have fewer toys. Another advantage of having more toys is that it gives them options to play with a toy in which they have more interest. This can avoid a condition in which parents face difficulty in choosing the right toy for their children. On the other hand, purchasing a large number of toys for the children has some downsides which cannot be overlooked. Predominantly, it makes the children more discontent as they make a habit of buying every new toy as soon as it hits to market. Once this bad habit instils in their life at this initial stage, it can be harmful at their stage to remain dissatisfied with materialistic things. Moreover, being busy with toys all the time often prevent children from playing with other kids which is vital for their social development. This scenario can lead to loneliness in the coming stages of their life when they hesitate to get involved with their classmates and colleagues. To conclude, buying a number of toys for children has both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, different range of toys aid children in their mental growth as well as choosing right toy, whereas, on the other hand, it can, sometimes, make them discontent and prevent their involvement with other kids which can be detrimental for their future.