A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, a person is judged by their physical appearance and material possession compared to earlier days when a knowledgeable individual like saint or teacher were given the highest honour in the society. In addition, the karma of the individual decided the status in the society not the wealth of a human. These points have conceded me to agree with the author of the statement. Now, we discuss a few reasons for this change in detail. There are many reasons for such a change in people mindset but most important is the income earned by them. They try to earn huge wealth even if they have to sell their honour for it. For example, salesmen of beauty product swore on their fairness product to the user in order to make a sale. But in reality, there are very slim chances of it working on all users. They are selling their trust to earn income from people. Thus, people earned their income by selling their trust which would have given them a bad reputation in earlier days but things work differently now. In addition to money, a few conmen have used hope as a fraud scheme. This scheme when caught kills the expectation of the public in all the persons around them. For instance, there are many saints in India who are caught for money laundering, sex slaves and various other crimes. In earlier days, saints were worshipped by all and most respected but now they have lost all the faith. The saints represented all the old fashioned values which now meant nothing to them. These small events have changed the mindset of the population. Finally, I would like to conclude that greed has taken over humans which have deprioritised other values like trust, honour and kindness. If the faith among us in lost, our society will fail. Therefore, we need to teach old fashion values to the next generations.