Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who have the belief that nations should be able to produce their own food to feed their people and reduce imports. I totally agree with such an idea because it would develop the local economy and result in higher quality food. The main reason why I believe individuals should be fed by food produced in their own countries is that they would be stimulating the internal market. While some think that is important to import food from other places because it provides a wider variety of options, what it actually does, in my opinion, is to inject money into other economies instead of investing in the local one, difficulting its development. Governments should prioritize their citizens and make sure they have opportunities to thrive instead of investing in food producers around the world. Another reason is that the food would be of better quality. Even though there are rigid international protocols to guarantee the quality of products involved in trades between different countries, it is unpracticable to be sure that every good that is imported was safely produced or transported. Therefore, it is way easier to control the quality of production and transportation inside the country that the food is going to be consumed, resulting in a better quality of the food for the population. To conclude, I reiterate my opinion that countries should reduce their food imports and produce the food necessary to feed their citizens because it would stimulate their internal economy and provide better food for the consumers.