There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a results, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The curriculum requirements for academic achievement are often debatable. Some people argue that in order to succeed academically, extra-curricular subjects such as cooking lessons and physical education must be excluded from the scheduled syllabus to achieve academic excellence. In my opinion, I firmly disagree with this argument, and this essay will explain my views with relevant examples. To begin with, teaching about health and fitness in schools is vital for the future of the younger generations. This is because engaging in physical activities helps children to stay active and healthy, which in turn improves their concentration not only in games but also in studies. As a result, individuals can achieve academic excellence as well as avoid health-related concerns such as obesity and diabetes, which are caused due to the lack of physical education. For example, a recent survey revealed that 75% of students who are actively engaging in additional sports activities at schools are achieving higher grades compared to those who are not involved in such classes. Therefore, I strongly believe that schools should inculcate fitness learning for the overall well-being of the students. Secondly, learning cooking lessons in classes is one of the survival skills that helps children to prepare meals for themselves. It is highly crucial for them to learn such skills because they enable them to face real-world challenges as they are not dependent on someone to prepare food. Furthermore, progress in life is not just determined by academic qualifications; it's a combination of practical life lessons and academic knowledge, which enables them to achieve success in real life. For instance, in 1965, the Indian educational system was restructured to include cooking lessons as they determined it was one of the needed skills that everyone should have knowledge of. In conclusion, I strongly believe that non-academic subjects such as physical literacy and cookery classes are important for students as they enable them to stay healthy and learn life skills to accomplish success when they are exposed to the real world.