Some people think government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to begin to eat more healthy foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Food defines the health of a person. While, healthy ingredients keeps a person fit and sick free, fast-food or processed items deteriorate their well-being. Nowadays, there is an increase in diseases in the modern world because of unhealthy lifestyle and eatery. As, the primary objective of the government to keep their citizens healthy and diseases free, a tax on them could help them in attaining it. We will elaborate on more reasons in the passage further. Firstly, healthy food consumed by citizens could lower the prices of medical equipment and medicines. For instance, a group of persons in a village eat a high nutritional and balanced diet, the people consuming it will lower their probability of sickness which concludes the lower demand of medical by them. And lower demand for them implies a lower price. As cheaper medical facilities are available to a citizen, the government doesn't have to subsidise these practices which saves a lot of their funds. These funds can be used towards the welfare of other groups of people. Secondly, a balanced diet could be beneficial for farmers. For example, a healthy diet comprises fresh and raw vegetables and fruits, and an increase in their demand will help the agriculture industry to grow which will, in turn, help the farmer. It is a win-win opportunity for citizens with high nutritional food and for a farmer with an increased income source. With increased farmer income, more organic practices are used and which results in high productivity with low physical work. Finally, I can conclude that the benefits of a balanced diet are indirectly transferred to all the citizens. Thus, taxing the unhealthy industry could force them to eat healthy diets. Thus, more and more governments should take these types of necessary steps for their citizen welfare.