Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words. Some individuals believe that living in a foreign country can lead to many social and practical problems because of the language barrier. I tend to believe that this is a real concern, I will elaborate my point of view below. Firstly, it is a trend from privileged people to spend some time abroad, being for language studies or college education. There is no doubt that if they do not have a basic knowledge of the foreign language they might get involved in embarrassing situations. I have lived in Ireland a couple of years ago, even with an intermediate level of English I have had several situations where I could not communicate myself properly, I have lost job opportunities, I was not able to rent a flat and even to order a proper food. Secondly, there are expressions, jokes and idioms that are only understandable by natives, another aspect from experience a new live abroad is about specific vocabulary and defending your point of view, follow rules and be able to properly communicate in different environments and situations. I addition to that, small mistakes can have huge impact on communication. One example of that is one time when I had to order an orange juice at mc Donald’s, and I receive an orange fruit because I have asked for a “juice orange” and the attendant understood me saying “just orange”, This sample may be funny, but, on other situations could be extremely bad depending the context. In conclusion, in order to adapt to a new culture, language and environment, immigrants should be able to communicate well in the language spoken in their localities. Lack of language skills and ability to proper communicate themselves can cause multiple troubles. Therefore, before decide Change the form of the verb deciding show examples to relocate to a new and different state or country, people should learn the language beforehand.