Some companies have uniforms for their employees which must be worn when they are at work. What are the advantages for a business of having a uniform and are there any disadvantages of having uniforms for their staff?

Nowadays, wearing a uniform is considered by many establishments a mandatory part of a company's policy which can have both benefits and drawbacks for employees. While the dress code is a unifying factor for workers as well as it protects employees from injuries, a uniform is expensive in production and does not consider one’s individuality. On the one hand, it can be commonly observed that companies require to wear attire to make workers feel a sense of unity with others and to prevent injuries in the workplace. A good illustration for this is that such large establishments as Google, Facebook and Tesla provide a tolerance policy without comparison to gender, race or status. From that perspective, wearing a uniform allows people to ensure a level playing field and unite employees as members of a large family which may increase their motivation to work. Moreover, companies are responsible for the safety of their workers to avoid paying insurance, and providing high-quality attire can help them to avert injuries in such dangerous professions as engineer, builder and pilot. Consequently, attire is beneficial for a company in giving unity and protection to people. On the other hand, even though this trend has received some praise over the decades, dress code can hide a person’s personality and, what is more, the manufacture of uniforms increases a company’s expenditure. Obviously, wearing strict attire does not allow individuals to express their feelings through the clothing and may affect their psychological state, which, as a result, may reduce their productivity. In addition, the price of attire production has grown since the requirement to print a company's details on it. Eventually, imposing a uniform can provide not only safety but also additional expenditure and the issue of an individual’s self-expression. In conclusion, having to wear strict attire at work has both advantages and disadvantages. Even though such a trend may provide a function of protection and team unity, it does not consider the workers’ individuality and may increase the costs.