4. Nowadays many people prefer to study or live in foreign countries. While studying and living abroad brings many benefits to individuals, it also has a number of disadvantages. What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

As the world became a global village, most countries are open for immigration, study & work opportunities leading to a surge in moving abroad. People started to study & live in foreign countries due to its lucrative benefits especially for studies. Having said that it has both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will discuss about it. First of all, living or studying abroad help to reap the benefit of intercultural exposure with other nationalities and improve one’s personality with a wider knowledge horizon. For example, a person will become bilingual by learning a new language, earn a new skill through part-time jobs, more adaptable to different circumstances, independent and confident. Secondly, when one takes education or job abroad their social networking skills improve as they interact with internationalities which help them to land in a better job prospects through referrals. Thirdly some countries offer best educational system and it opens a path for permanent resident visa status to gain better quality of life and other facilities like free medical care, no cost schooling for kids. Last but not least working abroad will help to gain and save paramount money due to the currency conversion differences which improves one’s financial status in their home country. However; while the advantages are so tempting, disadvantages are also there while moving abroad. Firstly a person’s inexperience in a new place would make them a victim of fraudulent activities. Secondly staying away from family would lead to homesickness and to an extent depression especially if they are staying in cold countries. Thirdly, when studying & living abroad brings in many benefits, it is also expensive for people from moderate economic background. For example, migrating for studies can result in debt if they are not financially sound and they will not get the benefits of a citizen while they are on temporary visa like free medical care. Finally, from the aspect of earning versus spending, when a person become a permanent resident or citizen in another country, their own homeland economy will not be benefitted in terms of gross domestic profit. To conclude, migrating to live or study abroad gives both benefits and drawbacks. But it is a personal choice and they should weigh the advantage and disadvantage according to their living circumstances