Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Nature or Nurture? It is controversial whether genetic inheritance or living circumstances affect more to form each person's character. Needless to say, both influences are inevitable, and the answer has remained elusive for a long time. However, I personally believe that our experience weighs more than our nature to determine who we are. In terms of inborn traits, most of our body function is built by referring to gene information when we are unborn babies. It affects not only appearance or abilities but also personalities. For example, the Japanese are well-known that incline to be conservative and pessimistic. Some studies explain it due to the tendency to the low number of serotonin, which is a neurotransmitter relating to relaxation. Therefore, the Japanese are more likely to feel anxious compared to other nationalities. Genes are unchangeable. Having said that, life experience is also critical for sharping individual characters. They say that man is a creature of circumstances. While growing up, we learn how to behave and think from surrounding people and environments, and our perspective change as a result of various life events. Furthermore, nature and nurture mutually interact. Thus, it is impossible to determine one's personality whether innate or acquired. The balance of both influences may well change depends on the types of character or the situation that the person acquired the character. In conclusion, nature and nurture are both powerful. Nevertheless, I assume that experiences have a more massive impact on building individual characters because we can try to compensate or strengthen our innate nature by selecting our lifestyles. Based on the inherent nature, we continue to transform who we are.