Tourism is becoming so widespread that the number of tourists visiting old sites causes problems such as overcrowding, leading to the site being damaged and the quality of the experience of the visit being reduced, due to large crowds. To what extent do you agree that this is a problem and what can governments do to solve the problem?

Over the past century, travel and tourism have become increasingly popular activities, and the number of tourists has increased exponentially each year. Many people believe that excessive numbers of tourists will not only detract from the experience of visiting old sites, but will also damage the sites themselves. I agree that tourism numbers have become a problem throughout the world and that governments should take steps to limit the number of tourists, or to provide suitable alternatives to the present situation of overcrowding. To begin, there are two problems which arise from large numbers of tourists visiting famous sites. Firstly, the quality of the experience of visiting a famous relic is negatively affected by crowds. For example, the Mona Lisa is a famous painting in the Louvre, in Paris. When I visited the museum and went to view the Mona Lisa, I could barely see the painting because the room was so crowded. For this reason, I did not enjoy the experience. Secondly, the painting had been covered in glass, because the moisture generated by millions of visitors was damaging the painting. Therefore, visitors cannot clearly see the details of the painting because it must be protected by a thick plate of glass. Both of these factors detract from the painting itself, as well as the experience of viewing it. There are several solutions governments could implement to decrease the negative effects of large crowds in tourist destinations. For example, governments could limit the number of people allowed to visit a site each day, to protect the sites from damage caused by crowds. Also, replicas of deteriorating sites or artefacts could be made, so that people can have the experience of visiting the site, but do not actually damage the irreplaceable site or object. In conclusion, it is evident that increasing numbers of tourists can damage old sites and detract from the quality of the tourist experience. Governments, tourist operators and the tourists themselves should take precautions to ensure that these valuable sites remain intact.