The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

It is a fact that the proportion of obese children in many western nations has constantly climbed over a decade. This essay will demonstrate a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and its negative impacts on individual and societies before outlining some viable solutions to mitigate this situation. A growing number of overweight children in many western countries are caused by several contributors and have a detrimental impact on human life. First, fast food and sugary beverages are increasingly becoming dominant in western children life. This is because these kinds of food and drink are available, convenient and have good taste, which meet their demands and hectic lifestyle. Because of such kinds of fast food and sweetened drink such as pizzas, hamburgers and coca, which contains high fat, calories and sugar, children are likely to gain weight excessively. As a result, children may suffer from a risk of health diseases like obesity and diabetes. Second, the advancement of technology is also a factor of sedentary lifestyle. To illustrate, nowadays, children tend to watch television or play video games in their leisure time rather than play sports or some traditional games, and therefore, their body is hardly in shape. Several solutions can be implemented to remedy this issue. One effective way is that children should adjust their dietary lifestyle. Vegetables and fruits should be more consumed and fast food and sugar-based drink should be cut down on. Another feasible solution is that doing excercise exercises and playing sports should be an alternative activity instead of watching TV or playing games. In conclusion, unhealthy food and sedentary lifestyle are the primary culprits behind the mentioned issue, and it is that the proposed solutions be adopted to tackle this problem.