Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There are two opposing views regarding whether open areas in the cities should be used for constructing more houses or for planting trees. I partially agree with people who opt to build a tree in any free places in the cities in lieu of building houses. In this, essay I will explain in details why I do not totally agree or disagree with replacing any areas with trees. First of all, the population of the world is growing at an uncontrolled speed and the need for new housing is growing accordingly. In some big cities around the world, so many people do not have a roof over their heads and are living on the street. In order to tackle this problem, we need more construction of small affordable housing. For example, in Stratkona park on Vancouver Island people are living in their tents or in their cars. This environment is not healthy for them especially during extreme weather condition. Therefore, we need to prioritize their needs for housing by building some small townhouses for them. Although prioritizing housing is paramount to curb homelessness in big cities, we should not undermine the importance of green spaces around towns. Needless to,say that to have high-quality air in cities, we need to have trees and parks. Trees breathe carbon dioxide human exhale and give out the oxygen we need. They also moderate the temperature and clean up carbon monoxide and other pollutants from the air. It makes total sense to plant some trees in some small areas that are not used or needed for construction to have a healthy living environment. Moreover, we need to reduce the number of constructions in low populated cities. Overall, it seems to me that for removing poverty and homelessness in some crowded cities, we have no choice but to put emphasis the construction of new housing units in free spaces. Whereas, in an area where housing is not in demand, we definitely have to plant trees and provide a healthier atmosphere for residents.