Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Every toddler is different and has their own abilities and pace of learning new things. There have been many debates that if introducing a foreign language in primary school is beneficial or a burden on the child. Merits and demerits of both scenarios are discussed in the following paragraphs. First of all, people who are in favour, think that a kid has strong grasping power in their adolescent age as compared to when they are older. Many new things are introduced in primary school which sound basic to us as parents but kids are keen to learn all of them. So they try to imitate everything we do or speak and to our,surprise they start speaking those words on their own in a matter of time. For instance, in Indian under the CBSE board kids start learning English along with their mother tongue right from kindergarten which helps them in future in getting desired education and jobs. On the other hand, kids who start learning English at the secondary level, face a number of issues and they have to put extra efforts into it. For example, my husband has had is his primary and secondary education in his mother tongue and it became a challenge for him when he started his graduation which was all in English. Furthermore, learning multiple languages at an adolescent age help the child in gaining confidence and boosts their morale as they will be more proficient and fluent in those particular languages when they grow-up. To illustrate, a survey conducted in India has shown that adults who were taught alien language in their primary schools were more likely to get accepted by multinational companies as compared to individuals who knew only one dialect. On the downside, children don’t really have an option at a younger age because they do not know how to choose. So, they are forced to learn whatever is taught to them which builds pressure on their mind and in some,cases it can be dangerous. It is our responsibility to not pressure the child and try to teach them basics first and then move on to advance level learning. To conclude, the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages in the discussion above. So, an education plan should be put together according the kid’s requirements which should include a foreign language at the initial stage.