Having police officers patrolling the streets is often considered an essential way to reduce crime. How effective do you think police street patrols are? What other ways of reducing crime can you propose? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience.

The removal of crime from society is an important issue and various techniques are used to eradicate it, and police patrolling is a popular method among these. I believe that patrolling is an effective approach in creating fear among criminals, but methods such as engaging lawbreaker in social welfare activities as well as more availability of basic necessities can also be helpful in getting desirable results. This essay would discuss the effectiveness of patrolling and other measures to reduce crime. First of all, the availability of the police on the local streets creates a fear situation among criminals, as the police can easily catch them and punish them. In other words, if the police cars are around an incident place they can reach there faster when notified by the victim, the culprits can be caught more easily. However, the longer time taken by the police from a police station gives time to the criminals for running away. Moving ahead, authorities can also engage lawbreaker in social welfare programmes to positively mould their behaviour. The majority of culprits are found guilty of small crimes, who are not a direct threat to society. These people can be involved in social works to serve society, this can give them the opportunity to be in a good circle, they can to toadapt adapt the behaviour of better society members. The criminals almost always have people with a similar mentality around, thus they do not get a chance to improve themselves, but this method can change their perspective. Along with it, the government should also provide basic necessities to every member of society. The lawbreakers mainly belong to deprived sections of the society, who do not have enough resources or any employee to fulfil their necessities. These people then find small thefts or stealing the only option to survive, but later,on they become an expert in these activities and turn into criminals. Hence, if everyone is provided with food and shelter, the crime rate would automatically reduce. In conclusion, it can be said that police patrolling is effective in decreasing the current criminal incidents, nevertheless approaches such as social work and availability of necessities can eradicate crime from roots.