Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that raising the minimum age of driving vehicle can reduce the traffic accidents. While I accept that this policy is good to some extent, I believe that this is not the best solution for it. This essay will discuss both views and provide logical conclusion. On the one hand, increasing the minimum legal age for driving might improve the road safety. It is already proven that people are not so serious about their activities when they are young as compared to older. This is because maturity comes with age which not only makes an individual to drive better but also make him responsible. Moreover, many teenager are not capable for legal consequences if they happen to be involved in road incidents because of their reckless driving. If we take any report for example, it is likely that number of young drivers are more involved as compared to older people. On the other hand, age cannot be the only factor to reduce the road incidents. There are other ways such as implementing strict punishment for violating traffic rules. Besides, it has been observed that due to heavy penalties, an individual follows rules and try to be better driver to avoid fine. Furthermore, this is a significantly important for the government to encourage people to follow the rules by arranging campaign in the schools, colleges and other places. These activities can be beneficial not only for the people but also for the nation. For instance, we see significant change in the number of road accidents of India when compared to western courtiers because of the heavy traffic fines. In conclusion, although the age eligibility can be a good idea in controlling the road incidents, I believe that other factors such as strict punishments and heavy fines could be better options for the improvement of traffic safety.