Many believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of modern city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public transport?

The megacities around the globe have been improving the facilities of public transport because it is considered to be an important element in a developed city. The benefits of public transit range from reduced traffic, less pollution to the government's revenues,, however it also has drawbacks such as fixed schedules, and problems in extreme weather conditions. This essay will discuss both the positives and negatives of public transport. To begin with, the improved transit in modern cities can remove the most common problems faced by the citizens along with providing revenue. The availability of frequent buses or trains can encourage more and more people to use this cost-effective option rather than driving their own vehicle. This would not only cut down the traffic on the road but also would decrease the pollution emitted from those vehicles. Besides, the increased use of public transit would result in higher revenue from this sector, and these funds would help in improving the other facilities. Thus, improving public transport can result in the overall development of a place. Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages associated with public transit such as fixed schedules, and unfavourable weather conditions. Firstly, the buses and trains always have fixed timings, which can create troubles for users. For instance, if a person misses a bus or train he/she has to wait for the next one, and the waiting time varies from 15 minutes to an hour depending on the route, at this time they might miss an important meeting. Secondly, bad weather can affect the use of transit negatively. The bus scheduled might get cancelled or delayed because of the weather, and travellers can get stuck outside safe places. For example, last year in the first snowstorm my last bus from work to home got delayed and then cancelled, so I waited about an hour outside to get a ride to reach home. Thus, public transport can be problematic in certain situations. In conclusion, it can be said that, although improvements in public transit can make modern cities a better place to live, yet it comes with some disadvantages.