If we want to save the future of the planet, we will have to drastically change our way of life. What is your opinion?

There is a controversial issue about Earth protection due to the deterioration of the environment. Some ecologists suggested that human beings should overturn the previous lifestyle for saving our planet. From my point of view, I think that people should make a difference in some aspects of maintaining our environment but it is not necessary to alter our lifestyle completely to save the planet. In this essay, I will support my idea with reasons and examples. On the one hand, it is no doubt that we should bring some changes to our way of life in order to prevent our surroundings from being destroyed. The main reason is that it will help human beings hand down a unique ecosystem to offsprings. Without proper protection, people usually exploit natural resources unwisely for gaining large profits. This will lead to the upcoming generation to have insufficient wildlife to survive. For instance, as per the report from the Launch of the BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2018, current petrol storage is only available to use in the next fifty years old, which should be paid attention to saving the usage of oil resources urgently. Otherwise, our grandchildren will have no idea what is petroleum. As a result, people should be limited on the usage of some nonrenewable resources to guarantee our offsprings having sufficient storage. On the other hand, it is not necessary to alter our lifestyle completely since nature stabilizes itself. To be more precise, when the average temperature rises, broad-leaved forests move toward higher latitudes and altitudes, which consumes more carbon dioxide and reduces the greenhouse effect. However, this process is extremely slow and it will not complete in the next hundreds of years. So the target of nature protection is essential for human being’s survival but not for the planet, which allows us to partly maintain our life quality in a more eco-friendly way. In conclusion, there is undeniable that the environment may reflect our behaviour and we need to raise public awareness on saving fossil energy and other nonrenewable resources. However, I believe it is no point to transform our lifestyle dramatically due to the Earth’s ability to self-healing.