Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages of disadvantages of this?

There is an elevating trend among elderly people of moving to a different country after their working years rather than staying in their homeland. While this approach has a myriad of pros, it also has multifarious cons. This essay will elucidate both perspectives in detail. To embark upon, it is not an erroneous notion that the world has become very small and accessible in the present era, which is why it has become fairly common for elderlies to settle in a foreign land. The prime advantage is that relocating makes it possible to stay close to the loved ones, in case they are living apart. Secondly, it is believed that we have got the only single life which we should live to the fullest by exploring every corner of the world. Although, it is very much unpractical while doing a job, thus, post-work years are the perfect opportunities to fulfil those dreams. For instance, a recent survey on the BBC channel showed that the majority of retirees goes on a world tour after saving money during their working years. On the contrary, it is highly risky for aged people to stay in the new nation. The main drawback is that most of the countries give better health care coverage only to those who have lived there for a long time and have contributed to the country's economy. Therefore, it might become a huge concern for older generations. Furthermore, in the new country, there is always be a barrier to language and culture. For example, if people shift to Paris without learning the French language, then life becomes extremely hard after a while, as most of the french people prefer to speak in their local language only. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that even though there are several advantages to retirees living abroad, the disadvantages of permanently shifting to a new land can not be overlooked. Despite having a desire of living a dream life after working years, it is pivotal to keep in mind two factors - the healthcare system and the language barrier or cultural barrier.