Cycling is healthier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular . What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Even though cycles are becoming less attractive than fancy cars, trains or buses, it provides numerous benefits to both individuals as well as the environment. Several reasons have caused this trend and, nonetheless, the government can take many actions to promote cycling. It is a matter of fact that some people do not consider cycles as an effective form of transport. Firstly, most of them think cycles are comparatively less safe than public transport to use every day. When someone is cycling, they should pay extra attention to other nearby vehicles. For instance, in Singapore, seventy per cent of road accident are caused by cyclists. Hence, people afraid to use them regularly. Secondly, even though cycling has many positive merits on one's health, some people refused to use cycles to work since it is tiring. Everybody wants to start their work or studies freshly in the morning. Therefore, they prefer more comfortable public transport or private vehicle over a cycle. Due to these reasons most of the youngsters and elders resent cycles to use in day to day work. Nevertheless, the government can promote cycling in the community. The authorities have a huge responsibility for raising public awareness of environmentally friendly transportation methods by doing nationwide campaigns. The increased use of fossil fuels has become a critical problem that mainly affects climate change. Hence, every individual should help to protect the air by using a less harmful method of transportations. Moreover, the government can build safe side roads in cities to cycle riders. If the public feels safe when riding a cycle, then they will use it as the main transportation method. For example, in Sri Lanka, separate side roads are allocated to cyclists which facilitate to go anyplace in the city fastly. Hence, cycles are extremely popular among adolescents. In conclusion, although cycling has many positive impacts on physical health and the environment, still it is not a much popular way of transportation due to safety concerns and less comfort. The government can build separate paths for cyclists as well as increase the public knowledge on the necessity of preserving the environment for the wellbeing of all the living beings to tackle this problem.