The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the rate of population who have obesity problem is increasing, and this issue has been a burden to hospitals. Although some individuals believe that the most effective method to tackle this problem is setting up more physical lessons in teaching syllabus, I think that there are better ways to help people stay healthy. First of all, I agree that physical education lessons are imperative in schools since students can acquire practical skills to boost their body. For example, swimming is one of the compulsory lessons in China. Students have to pass the examination at the end of the semester. However, in my point of view, it much more vital to change people's attitudes towards overweight problems and help them nurture an active daily routine than teach them how to stay fit. There are several steps can be taken to help people be health-conscious and relieve the burden of health care system. Firstly, governments could invest in public training centres to facilitate people's regular exercise. For instance, it is common in China that every neighbourhood has a free gym for residents to access training equipments, like basketball courts and running mechines. Apart from that, people are exposed to numerous fast food advertising, which would aggravate the overweight issue. For this reason, promoting the benefits of healthy diets on mass media is also an significant method to enhance the public awareness of losing weight. In conclusion, although sports lessons do have positive effects, there are some more efficient ways to address this issue.