Consumers are faced with increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is proposed that vying organizations bombard customers with rising advertisements. In my opinion, consumers have been adversely impacted by this practice, which will be discussed in the detail in the following paragraphs along with relevant solutions. To begin with, taking the impacts into consideration, the first and the foremost is the spike in impulsive shopping of common people with the mushrooming advertisements on every platform. This is primarily for a fact that such sales strategies of companies lure the customers to purchase their products even if they hardly need those. A case in point is that youth often end up buying every new cosmetic product launched in the market after being enticed by the attractive advertisement on the television. Thus, this makes it obvious that consumers have rendered shopaholic, which is obviously a matter of concern. Yet another influence is viewed on the children from these increasing marketing techniques. It is generally observed that tender minds are easily swayed by anything they watch on television or on the internet. Owing to this, they pester their parents to purchase that particular product. This is especially true in the case of a toy manufacturing company named Hamleys, which has boosted its sales to 70% within the establishing of a few years in many metro cities of India only through the plenty of advertisements on hoardings near schools and cartoon channels. Therefore, this is certainly not an appropriate approach to target little ones to increase the sales because somewhere it is making them discontent towards their needs. Since every issue can be tackled, this situation can also be surmounted using appropriate measures. First of all, governments have to make strict rules pertaining to advertisement content with the incorporation of stringent consumer protection laws. As a matter of fact, this would not only lead to restricting the over-marketing of many organizations but also alleviate the pressure of shopping on consumers. Besides this, school authorities and parents can counsel the children through organizing campaigns in schools and public functions so that they would understand the purpose of these persuasive marketing strategies. In this way, vulnerable minds would not attract to these advertisements for their favourite items. To conclude, the marketing and sales companies have paved the wrong path for buyers by creating artificial needs both in youngsters and children. However, the detrimental effects can be mitigated by the joint efforts of the government and the public.