Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Still many governments use plenty of public resource training athletes to win medals for their own country worldwide. There are some opponents suppose that the public fund should be put on things that benefit citizen without any doubt. And that is what I would agree on. The reason why I would against too much money spending on training individuals is that the importance of sporting events’ medals is decreasing year by year. It doesn’t mean that sport is not significant. Public sports should be put on more money to push it. For instance, governments should build more public gyms and sports centre for the citizen to entertain and exercise. More people have an opportunity to play football, more chances to get a football matchs’ medals. Besides, there are a lot of severe social problems to solve, particularly in the environment and education. Though many children have the right to go to school from age six or seven, there are a certain amount of young kids from poor area who could not attend classes like the other students in cities. They are forced to work in factories or do some agricultural work instead of being educated. Therefore, public money should be spent on the future of a country rather than those unpractical sporting events. In summary, I hold the opinion that governments should make good use of that money. Taking a step to give a solution to present problems, which the general public is focusing on and caring about is a better alternative than putting a lot of funds in training a few athletes for sporting events.