As compared to the past, children these days spend most of their leisure time indoors with computers and tv and less time outdoors. Describe one of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution

Nowadays, in contrast with past generations, more kids have been having amusements inside their houses using technological devices instead of spending some quality time outdoors or in nature. However, there are some growing concerns that psychologists are raising awareness of and, in this essay, I will discuss some of them and bring along some ways to mitigate such issues. To begin with, there is no doubt that the world has changed and some parents prefer their little ones to play inside their houses in order to protect them from the dangers of life. This is because the violence in recent years has drastically increased and guardians do not feel confident to allow their children to play outside as it used to be common to see. However, by not allowing their children to play around in the streets or surrounded by nature, mother and father may damage their sons and daughters’ psychological development which will be faced sometime in the future when they grow up. For instance, experts say that kids who are always in the digital sphere might find it difficult to make meaningful relationships, without mention the long term stress and anxiety that may implode only in their adulthood, caused by a lack of moments in the outdoors. To tackle these matters, legal guardians should encourage their offspring to go outside their comfort zone and spend time getting some fresh air or going for a walk around the neighbourhood. Another way could be setting a strict schedule for young ones to be passive using gadgets and include in their routine any kind of sport or activity that allows them to exercise and interact with others. Wherefore, by taking such attitudes, families will help their offspring not only to get better physical health but also to improve their mental health and social skills. In conclusion, in comparison to other generations, the young people have more contact with technological devices and are using them in their favour to have fun, however it may hurt their future relationships and their mental and physical health. To tackle this problem parents should motivate their children to spend time in the streets or in nature, along with providing them with the opportunity to take classes in activities which will help their bodies move and socialize.