Computers are becoming an integral part of education system. Some people believe it might lead to positive outcome while others think otherwise. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

In this modern era, computers are heavily used in education. Some argue that this is a positive development, whereas others believe the contrary. This essay will discuss the benefits, such as improved accessibility and how it can cater to different learning paces, and explore the drawbacks, including social isolation and lack of face-to-face interaction. On the one hand, E-learning provides students practical and flexible way of studying. With this type of learning, individuals could access lessons anywhere and at any time. Moreover, studying online can cater to various learning styles, where some people might have a slower pace compared to others. For instance, a particular online course website offers numerous lessons that can be accessed according to the users learning pace, so there are no deadlines to complete each course. This, in turn, could help the students understand the subject better. On the other hand, virtual learning might lead to people feeling isolated. Excessive time in front of computers can limit opportunities to actually interact with peers and families, so people could feel lonely, and consequently, it can affect their mental health. In addition, there will be no direct communication since online learning uses text-based or video-based communication, which means it is harder to get immediate feedback and a lack of meaningful discussions with peers. For example, when someone learning online and they find themselves confused about certain things, they normally have to wait for some time to get clarification from their mentors, which sometimes could lead to misunderstandings. In summary, while E-learning has its merits such as easy access and flexibility, it is also accompanied by negative aspects, including a lack of social contacts and could lead to people having limited genuine and meaningful engagement with another person.