Some people think spending a lot on birthdays and marriage celebration is a waste of money but others think it is important to the young people and the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people opine that squandering money on birthday parties and wedding ceremonies is a sheer waste of resources, whereas others believe that it is pertinent for social development. I intend to discuss both views in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, those who favour the former notion assert that spending too much on these occasions can put extra pressure on the pockets of the individuals, which in turn can lead to stress among them. It is primarily due to the fact that once the money is spent frequently on the celebrations by the average earning citizens, it becomes very difficult to manage the expenses for them. Owing to this situation, sometimes, they resort to lending money from friends and banks which even further aggravate the problem after failing to return the debt. As a consequence, they might have to bear the stress, thereby affecting their mental state in a negative way. On the other hand, proponents of the former notion claim that these get-togethers are imperative for the development of the social life of the people. In other words, these moments can give chances for friends and relatives to get some time from their mundane routine to interact with their loved ones. If these occasions are not celebrated regularly, it generally becomes impossible to get time from their busy life and work, which can result in an isolated society having negative implications. Therefore, celebrating these occasions serves an important purpose in the development of a stable society. In my perspective, enjoying these occasions plays a significant role in sustaining happiness among the people by making them more sociable in these moments. However, it is also very important that spending should be done according to one’s own capacity, which should not imbalance the finances. To conclude, even though birthday parties and marriage functions cost to the individuals, I still believe that these occasions are conducive for them in terms of making them more social as long as they avoid overspending on these parties without affecting their budgets.