Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Olympic Games are held once in four years across the globe. A number of people opine that competitions performed in such games bring citizens from various countries close whilst others believe this capital should be used for other crucial subjects. This essay will discuss both views and I personally support the former view. First and Foremost, games connect people together irrespective of their nationality. Whenever any nation hosts the Olympics, citizens from across the globe visit that country to support their players and this not only give them a chance to know each other in a better manner but also help them to understand their culture as well. As a result, a feeling of fraternity develops along with the sportsmanship for their country. Additionally, these kinds of events are very amiable for different countries at the international level. Conversely, there is no doubt that such events are very expensive and a large amount is required to organize them and this is where many people disagree with this notion. There are a number of under-developed countries that participates in these competitions and allocate a specific amount from their annual budget that should have been used in improving their educational and medical facilities. For example, a recent survey conducted by The British Government found that 5% of under-developed nations are dependent on multi-nationals organizations to support their athletes' financial needs. To conclude, of course, there is truth in the argument that the Olympics wastes money that could be utilised for other pivotal issues but various measures can be taken in order to offset such problems that include financial backing from international-companies, this issue can be handled. It is crucial that both individuals and the government work together in this venture. However, in my opinion, this not only brings generations together but also motivate athletes and give them a reason to prepare for their championship.