In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Along with the progressing modern world, mean lifespan is growing, which brings to some issues among individuals and in society. This essay will describe effects of this trend and give possible solutions on given problem. It is no secret thtat the demand growth for basic human requirements leads to increasing of the cost for living, which affects an individuals negatively. Considering the fact that after a retirement, a person will be assumed as unemployed and without incomes, it is not hard to predict, that his condition will be worsen. For example, if a person starts working at 20, retires at 60 and lives approximately up to 100 years, the 40 years after retirement, pension fees will probably not be able to conquer the cost for living. The main solution of a problem is increasing an age of retirement, thereby people will be able to prepare financially for older ages. Not only indiviuals, but society experiences negative consequences of lifespan growth as well. Increasing the retirement age means, that elder people will be provided with a job for a longer period, causing an enormous issue – youth unemployment. Due to elder ones’ experience and working abilities, younger and untrained people will struggle to find a job as a result. However, it can be solved by the government: in case if they invest in new technologies, there will be a demand for workers to handle them, which are obviously the youth. This resolution provides new jobs, diminishing the unemployment level and rescuing counties’ economics. To sum up, alterations are bringing both positive and negative effects on humanity and society, and the latter can lead to disruptive aftermaths. Even so, it is possible to adapt for these changes, turning the negative consequences into our convenience.