5. Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today, what are the causes of global warming and what measures can government and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Global warming is the increase of average world temperature due to which a rapid change in the climate occurs. This is a very serious issue faced by the world today. There are several measures that can be taken by the government and individual together to arrest this situation. This essay will discuss it. There are several causes for global warming. One of the main reasons is deforestation. Forests are very much essential due to its diverse role played in every living being on earth. Cutting down forest for urbanisation and development will result in the release of stored carbon from the trees and also carbon dioxide released from other living being are not absorbed as the trees become less. Secondly, industrialisation and its expansion has resulted in the emission of gas huge amount. Another reason is the burning of plastics and fossil fuels. This will lead to pollution in such a way that carbons emitted affect the temperature rise drastically. Last but not least, there is an ignorant amount of greenhouse gas release from large domestic appliances like Fridge, Generators, and air conditioners. Several measures can be taken to control this over a gradual period of time. Firstly, government should conduct awareness programs periodically on global warming, after effects of deforestation, plastic pollution. This will educate public and avoid ignorance among them. Secondly there should be stringent rules and regulations on approving license for industries. Thirdly to have a control on burning of fossil fuels, government should increase facilities and number of public transport, there by encouraging to reduce the use of private vehicles. There should also be punishments ranging from fine to imprisonment for breaching the policies set by government on plastic burning. Finally, government should set up alternative sources of energies like solar, tidal and wind which will reduce the emission of greenhouse gases. To conclude, global warming is a man-made issue. So both government and individuals should join hands together with social commitment and effective implementation of alternative solutions to control this problem and preserve this earth for next generation.