Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites.

Despite the fact that museums and historical places hold a vital role in any community, yet most of these places are often visited by tourists rather than the local inhabitants. This easy would delve into reasons behind this decreasing number of locals visiting these sites and some possible solutions to reverse this trend. Museums and historical places have always witnessed the heavy turn out of foreigners, as they best serve a tourist’s purpose of learning about the place he is visiting. However, locals being born and brought up at that place are mostly aware and familiar about the native land, and hence are less curious about visiting these sites. In addition to this tourists often come with a pre-planned budget of time and money to spend visiting these sites, on the other,hand locals avoid spending money on visiting the places they are living around since birth. For example, a person who is living in Chandigarh since birth would hardly prefer to spend money on visiting the rock garden, which the tourists love to see. Thus, these are some of the reasons resulting in the lower presence of locals at most of the historical tourist attractions. To reverse this trend and encourage a more local presence certain steps like making entry of locals to museums free and encouraging kids to visit historical places could be very useful. As a person will never prefer spending money on visiting a place about which he has studied and is familiar with, so keeping a ticket free entry for natives to these places will surely help in motivating people to visit them. Secondly, in schools, introducing tours to museums and historical places as a part of the curriculum of teaching history will help in developing the interest of children towards visiting these places. In conclusion, even though there are some practical reasons like curiosity and priority of things which results in the lower turnout of locals to the museums, the same are the reasons why foreigners visit such places more, and with some corrective,approach a lot can be done to encourage the locals to visit these places more often.