The popularity of dead languages such as Latin and ancient Greek in schools is declining, as many people consider their study to be a waste of time and funding. How does the study of dead languages add to academic and personal development? Why might some people feel that funds could be better allocated?

Nowadays, most educational institutions do not pay special attention to the study of endangered languages such as Latin or Ancient Greek. Such a change in the system of languages studied is a consequence of the spread of views that believe that these activities are meaningless and in no way useful to people in the future. Actually, learning dead languages promotes academic as well as personal development. As we know, most of the necessary and useful information that we can get from our ancestors was written in dead languages. Therefore, in order to avoid certain problems relying on the experience of ancient people, and thereby contribute to the development of mankind, people should be more attentive to the study of old languages. For instance, most of the great healers and philosophers of the World left records in the already extinct languages of China, or in Latin. Studying dead languages would help us rise one step higher in medicine, or in literature and in philosophy. On the other hand, not all people associate their future or future profession with industries that require the study of certain languages. For example, the development of IT technology and the computer sphere in general directly depends on the current modernized knowledge, and it is hardly possible to find something useful in old records of ancient people who had no idea what a computer was. Also, the number of people who prefer more exact sciences is growing day by day. Therefore the need for dead languages is diminishing Based on all of the above, we can conclude that the study of the dead is an important part of science and many other areas. However, the development of technology makes it less important and thus dead languages become an unnecessary thing in the lives of people of a new generation.