Some people believe that children are given too much freetime. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Whether children should have enough leisure time or not has sparked a debate among people. While some believe that children should be mindful to utilize this time to study, others do not agree with it. I think the spare time for children plays a paramount role in their overall development. In this essay, I will suggest how children should spend this time. Nowadays, children are constantly pressured by their peers to excel in their studies, allowing them to carry out their favourite leisure pursuits would certainly help them feel relieved. Sometimes parents neglect the importance of free time as a result of which young people cannot focus properly on their studies. A growing number of studies have found that children who actively participate in extra-curricular activities develop cognitive, social and communication skills, which help them in their personal and professional life. Thus, parents should acknowledge the importance of leisure time. Another compelling reason why children should spend their time according to their will is that it is beneficial for their health. Outdoor activities refresh and relax their mind which is significant for their mental, and physical well-being. Analysts, for instance, believe that an active lifestyle of children improves their academic performance. Therefore, physical fitness of a child is also essential to help them perform well in their studies. To conclude, some people opine that children should not be allowed to have enough free time and must study during this period. However, I believe that leisure activities allow children to develop soft skills and improve their fitness level.