More and more plastic waste has polluted cities, countryside’s, and oceans. What problems does it cause and what measures can be taken?

Plastic refuse has contaminated towns, rural areas and marine wildlife. There are two main issues, people are carless towards their environment and the limited information on the harmful effect this could have. Possible solutions would be a government fine people who throw rubbish in street and teach people on the detrimental effects. One significant problem causing pollution is that people do not pay attention to the surrounding, they think there are a plethora of workers who are employed to clean their cities. To illustrate this point, half of young people in Paris go out on a Friday night and have a great time with their friends and after partying they often throw away takeaway’s packages which made of plastic in the street or rivers as they believe someone would clean after them. This would not only pollute the place where they live but also would affect animals’ wildlife. To tackle this issue, governments should impose fine on anyone who disposes any rubbish not in a dust bin, by doing this people could become responsible. Another problem that needs to be considered is the lack of awareness about the harm that plastic waste can have on human’s health, climate change and marine inhabitants. In 2015 about a quarter of sea creatures of the Indian sea was found dead due to water contamination with particles of plastic, most people do not have knowledge about the environmental consequences. This problem could be mitigated by environmentalists providing the nations with information about the danger of waste on the planet earth, it may, in the long run, be advantages as people could become conscious of the damage of pollution can have. In conclusion, the high increase of plastic waste has negatively impacted on cities, landscapes and oceans because individuals do not have sense of responsibilities to keep their cities clean and lack of knowledge about the effects of plastic pollution. The government needs to look at finning citizens who throw rubbish away and environmentalists need to educate the society.