Many museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Heritage properties and antique exhibition are the sources of guidance from one generation to another. While, it attracts visitors from hundreds of miles, whereas, fewer footprints are seen by local residents. Therefore, several factors attract visitors and they also have possible solutions to encourage the local citizens. There are some motivational areas affecting both the minds, a visitor left on holidays to explore the place, other one want entertainment in a short time. First and the foremost, tourist comes with the aim to learn about different cultures, tradition, histories and with the question in mind, why this place is famous. On the other hand citizens of that particular place are more familiar with their surroundings, either; they can get updated from their ancestors and local books. Apart from this, the tourist comes to spend their leisure time, and they keep their budget aside. Whereas, local individuals are having limited time such as weekends so that they want to spend time watching movies, restaurants, and shopping. Thus, mindset is according to their planning. As common says “darkness under the lamp” same happens with indigenous people, to avoid these steps should be taken by local bodies and individuals to emphasize on their visit to museums and historical places. One of the first steps should be a discount on entry tickets by providing local identity cards. Secondly, permissions should be granted to a local businessman to install stalls and trade fairs to attracts local citizens, cultural activities should be organized to increase their interests. In addition to this, local residents should take it as their responsibility to introduce their children to these interesting places. Hence, to enhance the life of such heritage treasury such steps should be taken by own and administrations. In conclusion, although visitors are aware of these places that means these have huge importance, however, locals should also learn from them.