Some people think painting and drawings are important as other subjects. They should be compulsory in high school education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since time immemorial, art has been an inseparable part of human life. Some believe that it should be an obligatory subject in high school curricula. I tend to hold the mentioned mindset strongly as it can bring about several merits. One explanation for why art should be an integral part of the education system is the fact that it is conducive to creativity. It is contended that studying art is associated with nurturing a number of cognitive skills such as problem-solving, and critical thinking, all of which can foster creativity and accordingly more efficiency and productivity in different aspects of life. For instance, according to history, most scientists were fascinated by art. Therefore, if strengthens the artistic spirit, one can enhance his achievements. Moreover, art lessons can be like a turning point for those who are gifted in this regard. It means that after being distinguished they can improve their ability in order to pursue this field as a career in their future life. To illustrate, Doctor Farshchian who is a well-known painter in my country, Iran, was recognized as a talented student by his art tutor for the first time who incentivized him to do art as a main career. Thus, these centres can be milestones for unknown, yet talented artists. Some, however, may argue forcing students to study art can have a negative correlation with their interests leading to wasting time on subjects for which they have no enthusiasm. Furthermore, compulsory education can backfire and result in hate toward art. For instance, those who are determined to pursue their education in medicine may see no practicality in spending time on art. However, I disapprove of this mindset as this lesson can pave the way for other fields by providing the students with some skills such as innovation needed to succeed in other areas of study. In conclusion, it seems rational to accept that the more the institutes give attention to art, the more productivity they can witness.