Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Many workers decide to dedicate themselves to their jobs, but this means they have fewer hours of free time. Although this can help their career, I believe that there are more drawbacks because it will negatively impact their health. The main reason people work extra hours is to gain a promotion. In many jobs, an employee is in competition with his colleagues, and those that achieve the greatest productivity is most likely to be promoted. For instance, Elon Mask demands that his employees at Tesla and Space X work 7 days a week, and those who cannot maintain that pace are very unlikely to remain with the company. However, I believe that any promotions earned will be short-lived as working in this way is not sustainable. The disadvantage is that working very arduous hours can be detrimental to a person’s wellbeing. This is because, without time to unwind, stress from work increases and affects both an individual’s physical and mental health. For example, many lawyers leave the profession well before retirement because of the negative health implications of being expected to work more than 80 hours per week. As maintaining a healthy body and mind is so important for human beings, I am of the opinion that working long hours has too many disadvantages. In conclusion, although it might be tempting to make career advancement the number one priority by working extra hours, one must consider the sustainability of such an approach due to an increased likelihood of poor wellbeing. For these reasons, the negatives far outnumber the positives.