Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (such as the environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, a great number of people indicate that the government should spend more money on developing faster means of transportation, while others argue that the government resources should be spent on more important issues such as protecting and saving the environment. I personally agree with the first idea and I will explain my opinion on this matter in details. To begin with, it is clear that the government should prioritize investing in faster means of transportation especially in large cities because the problem of traffic congestion and air pollution from numerous vehicles is increasingly serious in them. To give an example, in big cities in my country, Iran, people face traffic jams for hours after work in peak times. This has negative effects on people's physical and mental heath. Moreover, spending more time in traffic also causes spending more money on gas and wasting energy sources, which in turn will cause more invironmetal issues such as pollution and global warming. Furthermore, if government invests more in the improvement of means of transportations that have more capacities and are faster than other ones, the number of vehicles will probably decrease. for example, after launching high-speed trains between cities, public has an opportunity to get faster in their destinations. This made more convenient transit from one place to another, especially for those who had to drive long distances to get to their workplaces, and now they prefer to travel by train rather than drive their own cars. In addition, there are financial benefits, as driving long distances requires more money spent on gas. In conclusion, although our society has a huge quantity of issues to be solved, I still believe that spending money on improving the transport system has benefits that could help to ease such problems as air and noise pollution.