Is it necessary for parents to attend parenting courses to bring their children up.Do you agree of disagree with the statement?

One of parents’ most important responsibilities is perhaps taking good care of their offsprings. It is believed that it should be compulsory for all mums and dads to take parenting courses so that they are better prepared for parenthood. While I accept that such classes are beneficial, I do not agree that they should be mandatory. On the one hand, the father and mother would benefit a great deal from parenting classes. First, such series provide mothers and fathers with in-depth knowledge about how to raise a kid at different developmental stages. Parents who decide to take the parenting program will have a better understanding of their children’s needs; hence, they can take the best care of them. Second, mums and dads in parenting classes are equipped with basic medical training to deal with emergency situations more effectively. For instance, first aid training teaches parents what to do if their child has a high fever or a breathing issue. Despite such benefits of taking part in parenting series or workshops, I believe that they should not be compulsory. This is because many parents, especially those who struggle financially, have to work overtime, in the evenings or even at weekends, just to make ends meet. Forcing them to attend those classes would adversely affect their work and their lives. Therefore, I think that parents should be free to decide whether or not they want to participate in those courses instead of being forced to do so. In conclusion, in spite of some benefits that parenting classes offer, I believe that they should be optional rather than compulsory.