‘Tourism is always a force for good which enables people of different countries to understand each other.’ To what extent do you agree with this idea? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Tourism generally allows people to have experiences that promote a better understanding of diverse nations. Even though not every individual is willing to expand their worldview when travelling, I believe that tourism provides a great opportunity to learn about cultural particularities and habits of each country. People choose to travel abroad for various reasons including visiting historical sites, engaging in adventures, or resting after a long year of work. Certainly, when visiting a different country, most individuals gain some knowledge of the local culture by trying local foods, attending cultural programs, and visiting museums or ancient buildings. When touring Brazil, for example, international travellers usually expect to see beaches, soccer, and rainforests. However, once there, tourists learn about cultural characteristics such as how slavery is profoundly embedded in the Brazilian culture, influencing many dances and traditional culinary. Similarly, when travelling to Asian countries, vacationers can visit astonishing temples and understand how religion impact the residents. To this extent, tourism creates positive experiences that help people to better comprehend each other. On the other hand, not everyone travels abroad to discover more about other nations. Some individuals only seek their own amusement when travelling, and usually prefer to relax all day at the beach, eating in international restaurants rather than local establishments. Moreover, there are a few who engage in illegal tourism activities for personal recreation. For example, some individuals visit African nations solely to hunt wild animals, showing no interest in the local culture. Nevertheless, from my perspective, these types of tourists constitute a minor group, and most tourists travel with good intentions. Thus, I believe that tourism is mostly positive and promotes cultural exchange. In conclusion, although some tourists travel for illegal activities or show little interest in other cultures, I believe that the tourism industry largely promotes mutual understanding among diverse countries, as most people travel with the intention of learning about the place they visit.