Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

We, humans, are always fascinated to see new places or things. Since airfare has become cheap, several tourist destinations all around the world have come within the reach of middle-class people. Many people who love adventure are flocking to visit places, which were previously thought to be difficult for humans to reach. There are many advantages as well as disadvantages to it. There are numerous advantages to tourists visiting such places. Firstly, the tourists visiting these regions help the local economy to grow, as it provides considerable employment to the local communities of the region. For example, in the recent few years, there has been significant growth in the number of people visiting Nepal to climb Mount Everest, for which locals have opened shops and hotels to accommodate the visitors from all around the world, thus boosting the economy of the region. Secondly, it is considered a good way to know about another culture. The tourists return home with a lot of experience and knowledge about the local culture from the place they visit. However, there are some serious disadvantages for tourists visiting places with such harsh conditions. In the regions such as the Sahara or the Antarctic, the climatic conditions, as well as the erratic weather, make it very tough for the tourists to survive these conditions. Also, carrying out rescue operation would be very challenging in case of an accident in such places. Therefore, visiting such regions involves considerable life risks. To conclude, it can be said that visiting places like these involves considerable risk of life, but the benefits of tourists visiting these areas, uplifting the local economy and opening the area to the whole world, outweigh the disadvantages involved.