Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has technology affected the types of relationship people make. Has this become a positive or negative development?

Advancements in technology have brought significant changes in all spheres of our lives. Undoubtedly, it has altered the ways of our interpersonal and official communication as well. These changes in our interactions with others are largely appreciated and accepted in the society. First, methods of correspondence in our work life are completely different than those used to be couple of decades before. Old mailing system, typewriters and fax machines have been replaced by emails, computers, and smart phones. Distances have become irrelevant and people can meet their juniors and superiors by using Zoom meetings. The MS Teams is another example of modern-day tool for free calls, conferences and sharing official data without the need of posting these via mail. Now it is quite possible to work away from your office or business due to these smart gadgets and tools and you do not have to be physically present on these places if situation requires. Secondly, technology has brought families and relatives closer to each other than ever before. A person working abroad can easily chat with his family daily without any hassle of travelling every two or three months. Friends can do gossip for hours and hours without moving out of their homes. Similarly, teachers and students can exchange subject materials and ideas on any topic while staying at home due to current pandemic situation. For instance, Facebook and WhatsApp not only have made it easier to share materials, data and posts on large scale but also video calls by these apps have revolutionized the old way of telecommunication. In conclusion, technology has absolutely affected our ways of communication by reducing the cost and time which normally used to deter us from an effective communication. Therefore, I personally believe that it is a positive change as it has created a flexibility in the society.