Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

In most of the private companies, people have a mentality of working for long hours or in some cases they will stay in office for a longer time just for show off purpose. According to me, this situation has more cons than pros. I will throw more light on this perspective below. It has been observed in many IT companies that employees stretch their working hours and spend very less time with their families. Most people believe that working late hours will create a good impression on their boss and they may get promotions early compared to their fellow colleagues. Extending the working hours on a regular basis may lead to serious health consequences. This also kills a relaxing time which one can spend with their family and friends. This situation destroys work-life balance and because of this people start facing issues in their personal life. Today management also prefers smart work rather than working hard. So, instead of creating a good impression employees will be suffering rather bad consequences in both personal and professional space. However, working for long hours is considered good in few cases. For example, when there is an implementation for some project and a bug has been identified and needs an urgent fix at that moment itself. In this case, if a person extends his support and solves the problem, this creates a very good impression on customers or senior management and there are chances of receiving a bonus. So, to conclude, working for long hours should be avoided unless it is very urgent as it can cause serious health issues and can lead to problems in personal space too.