Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Over the years tests and examinations have become a main and the most important way of checking the knowledge gained by students of all age. Therefore, teachers are able to see, if their methods of teaching are actually working and what to improve or change. However, does it really check pupil’s knowledge? Are we supposed to put so much pressure on those features? On the one hand, test and examinations can be motivating. Many student get exited while getting a good grade and it makes them want to study harder. It is a main point that they can refer to and see, if they learning methods are proper. Also, while receiving bad grade they know, that they did not put enough effort and maybe they should do more next time. Moreover, through those features teachers get a feedback from a class, and is able to work on their methods. Without that, it would be pretty difficult to see, if the way of presenting the knowledge is clear and proper for given group of students. Also, thanks to that they can evaluate which student needs more help and understanding. On the other hand, taking a test or examination may be extremely stressful for people. Taking an exam especially in school and awareness of possible failure might cause anxiety. Consequently, a person who really prepared might get a grade which will not satisfy, because they froze. Another key point is that, students should not be graded only by the examination results. Teachers should focus on activeness of pupils and encourage them to do more projects. Therefore, parents would not be pressuring children to have the best grades, because they would be aware, that it is not significant. All points presented, I believe that examinations and test should not be the central feature of school system. The amount of stress related to that is not worth it. Students should feel encouraged to study, not afraid of it and its consequences.