In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason for this trend. Is it a positive or negative development.

Nowadays purchasing things has become a past time for many people around the globe instead of looking to acquire what we need the most. This essay will discuss why shopping is seen as entertainment and in my opinion, there are more negative aspects when compared to the positives. On the one hand, purchasing power has become a time to refresh when compared to ancient times where people purchased only to fulfil the requirements. We can see this as a positive shift in the attitudes as the country’s economy keeps flowing. To illustrate, in recent times during pandemic there has been a massive surge in consumer spending which sparked the Australian economy to get back on track as per reports released by the Reserve bank. Moreover, banks lend more money in the forms of EMI, credit cards to indirectly lure to spend more money and also build schemes to repay back the money at a later time. By this considerable amount in spent without hesitating to purchase availing this option. Hence, spending has become entertainment compared to olden times. On the other hand, impulsive shopping has become a detrimental trend that might leave with a myriad consequences. People obtain and spend enormous amounts of money on unnecessary items leaving them broke by not saving for later important investments. This has become a dangerous shift in the attitudes of the people spending over the limit not securing a better future. To exemplify, according to the latest reports from the department of consumer spending it has been stated that more than 80% of the youngsters have borrowed money from financial institutions to purchase products beyond their ability. This graph has rapidly increased in recent years in unwanted purchases. To conclude, although spending and purchasing are seen as a positive inclination in keeping the country’s economy running financial discipline as to be maintained to pave the safest path in securing a bright future.