Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television can not replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Kids spend more and more time watching the TV presently. Even a few years ago, infants used to read books and science journals, but high technologies replace these traditions. That is why education level decreases nowadays. I completely agree, that television can not replace a book as an educational resource. It can be proved by kids’ preferences in the TV-programs and research made by the BBC. According to statistics, children usually prefer watching entertaining programs, such as cartoons or TV-shows. For example, cartoons are showed 90% more often, than educational content. Therefore, a child would not take any useful information while watching the TV. In this case, teenagers are less educated these days. However, reading books is essential for good education. The BBC research showed, that people with the highest IQ have been spending their free time reading instead of watching television. Literature provides a lot of important information and helps to develop imagination as well. Above all, printed information is 50% easier for understanding and learning. Due to it, it is very clear, why schools and universities are choosing books to educate students. To sum up, television is a huge reason for educational level to decrease. Moreover, books will never be replaced by the TV. From my point of view, reading is the only way to study well. I believe, that parents should make infants to spend more time reading good literature. In my humble opinion, only the scientific shows are fine for children, as they are giving useful information.