The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

It is true that the internet is a great development in communication. However, it is also true that the internet has made people less prone to socialise. I strongly agree with both statements and this essay presents arguments to support my opinion. The main reason why I believe the internet has made people connected is that it allows people to interact with each other regardless of their location. This is because there are numerous resources in order to keep in contact with people. For example, social apps, such as Facebook or Instagram, allow people to interact with each other and to stay aware of what is happening in the world. In addition, there are tools to make video calls and virtual meetings, which certainly keeps people connected. Nevertheless, although those options are offered through the internet, people are not socialising with each other like they were in the past. This is because the internet has made people addicted and, as a result, they are spending more time using those apps than staying with people. To illustrate, it was common to see communities meetings and celebrations in the past, however, after the internet,these meetings are rare, if not over. Therefore, besides all the progress that the internet has promoted, people are more isolated nowadays. In conclusion, I completely agree that the internet has helped people to keep in touch. However, I also agree this tool has made people more lonely. Given this situation, I suggest that people find the right balance between using the internet and socialising with people.