Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In today's tech-savvy world, parents are considerably pressurizing their kids to progress, especially in their career because of the competition in the market. Indeed, in my opinion, this advocacy of parent's influence brings negative effects on children in the long run. Most parents have concerned about the future career of their offsprings. This is because,in the cut-throat competition, workplaces require talented and innovative individuals, and to fulfil this criterion, parents force their children to study and take part in extra activities. Moreover, parents believe that attaining a degree and experience will morph their children's success. A good illustration of this is my friend Chloe. She persuaded Social Work because of her family members, and today she is well-settled and case manager in one of the non-profitable organisation. So, to acquire a reputated title and stability, parents put pressure on their young ones. Personally, it is undeniable that children are facing a lot of competition nowadays, but parent's pressure will make the environment more worst for the young ones. I believe that enforcing too much pressure on teenagers can lead to psychological disorders such as depression and stress, which in the long run can turn out as trauma. For example, my housemate was under pressure from his mother of getting 7 bands in writing to assess his degree, but he was scoring only 6.5 in every attempt he had made. This over-burden on his shoulder lead him to a stage of depression, and now he is taking counselling. Therefore, a high-volume of pressure may result in mental disorders. To conclude, undoubtedly, parents force can sometimes lead to success in a career; conversely, it can also impact an individual's brain. It entirely depends upon a person that how to take the pressure on his body.