These seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Checking the knowledge and progress of students through exams instead of continual assessment became a major part of the education system. In this essay I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new flow of judgement. On the one hand, the exams are an efficient way to determine what level a student is right now. This facilitates the progress of further preparation and additional learning depending on the results. Moreover, exams are like a focal point for both teachers and pupils as they can mentally know what junior should pay attention to more. Consequently, the exam as a form of the estimate is a scheme to distinguish the weaker sides of the undergraduate and help them to work with it. For instance, exams like the SAT in the USA, Governmental exams in Russia and etc. are the perfect design for this category of the appraisal. On the other hand, this kind of regulation of student knowledge is often stressful and not fully accurate. For example, a student may have a deep proficiency in that subject, but he failed the exam. But one exam does not distinguish the insight of that pupil as there many circumstances that may have changed the results that he has been showing before. Furthermore, this outcome affects the student too, as he loses confidence in himself and a will to study more. In conclusion, the exams as a form of assessment is an adequate way to detect the level of knowledge in certain fields or in general., Nevertheless modern exams have a demanding influence on students that lead to many other problems. It is important to balance both continual assessments with exams to understand completely the way student is working.