Some say that music, art, and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the students at primary school must be taught creative subjects such as painting, music, and acting along with English, mathematics, and social science. This essay supports the above notion/ assertion, and it will firstly discuss how art- related subjects help children choose their stream and why other subjects are also essential for them. Students should not be confined to study only basic subjects as it hampers their developmental phase. Moreover, this is the time when they can participate in art-based subjects, such as singing, dancing, and painting, which may help them in choosing the subjects of their choice at the secondary level. If a child is not interested in theoretical subjects, he must have other options to choose from. An article published in - ‘The Times’- stated that 80 out of 100 schools in the UK have added music and drama subjects to their curriculum in order to cater to the interests of learners. Are English and social science worthless subjects if taught to small children? No, every subject is essential for the overall as well as the cognitive development of the children. They need to be taught simple calculations such as addition and subtraction in order to buy anything from the school’s canteen or any random shop. Equally, basic communication skills are also required to socialize with others. Thus, these subjects will help them to experience a diverse variety of options in their school curriculum. For instance, a 10- year- old needs basic communication skills to have his/ her own social circle. Thus, giving them various options can prove to be rewarding for creative-minded students. In conclusion, every subject is important for primary school children, but if they do not get an opportunity for hands-on experience in various skills, their interest would diminish and they would not know their subjects of choice.